I Just Want To Do Love Right …

Do not be dismayed by the brokenness of the world. All things break. And all things can be mended. Not with time, as they say, but with intention. So go. Love intentionally, extravagantly, unconditionally. The broken world waits in darkness for the light that is you.
L.R. Knost

There is a lovely idea in the Celtic tradition that if you send out goodness from yourself, or if you share that which is happy or good within you, it will all come back to you multiplied ten thousand times. In the kingdom of love there is no competition, there is no possessiveness or control. The more love you give away, the more love you will have.
John O’Donohue from Anam Cara

I just want to do Love right …

This is my prayer and purpose and calling. It is the only non-negotiable for my days left here. As a Christian, Love is the only acceptable legacy I care to leave the world; not Love covered in doctrine, not Love couched in religion, not Love loaded down with caveats and conditions; just the beautifully potent thing itself, distilled down to its essence and delivered directly to people as honestly and purely as I can.

And let’s not kid ourselves, most people know when they’re really being loved and when they been handed a lousy imitation with the same name—especially when it comes to religious people. I’ve come to believe that if someone’s color, gender, religion, ethnicity, or sexual orientation keeps you from fully loving them, you’re probably doing Love wrong.

Sadly I see so many people of faith expending all their time and energy trying to be right in all the wrong things. They labor and strain for a foolproof theology, a proper religion, a political position, a respectable family image, a certain standing in the community. They want to win arguments and claim high ground and throw shade and pass judgment because those things make them feel quite morally right—and that’s an easy high to chase.

And yet to many people outside of the faith, we Christians have more and more become clanging cymbals, making a loud and loveless noise in their ears all the while talking just like angels.

I have no interest in loudly living such a disconnect. As best I can I am divorcing myself from words as my primary language. I want my very life itself to speak with the greatest clarity.

And so my most fervent prayer these days is simply this:

Dear God, I really don’t care about anything else today.

Just help me do Love right.

John Pavlovitz from I Want To Do Love Right

. I do not understand the mystery of grace -- only that it meets us where we are and does not leave us where it found us. -- Anne Lamott . . . . #dandilion #Flowerphotography #flowerstalker #flower #flowers #flowerstagram #flowersofinstagram #loveyyc #cap

Leave a Reply

