The Artist’s Creed …

I believe I am worth the time it takes to create
whatever I feel called to create.

I believe that my work is worthy of its own space
which is worthy of the name, Sacred.

I believe that when I enter this space, I have the right
to work in silence, uninterruptedly, for as long as I choose.

I believe that the moment I open myself to the gifts of the Muse
I open myself to the Source of All Creation
and become One with the Mother of Life Itself.

I believe that my work is joyful, useful and constantly changing,
flowing through me like a river with no beginning and no end.

I believe that what it is I am called to do
will make itself known when I have made myself ready.

I believe that the time I spend creating my art
is as precious as the time I spend giving to others.

I believe that what truly matters in the making of art
is not what the final piece looks like or sounds like,
not what it is worth or not worth, but what
newness gets added to the universe in the process
of the piece itself becoming.

I believe that I am not alone in my attempts to create,
and that once I begin the work, settle into the strangeness,
the words will take shape, the form find life, and the spirit take flight.

I believe that as the Muse gives to me,
So does she deserve from me:
faith, mindfulness and enduring commitment.
— Jan Phillips from Marry Your Muse: Making a Lasting Commitment to Your Creativity

If you knew yourself for even one moment, if you could just glimpse your most beautiful face, maybe you wouldn’t slumber so deeply in that house of clay. Why not move into your house of joy and shine into every crevice! For you are the secret Treasure-bearer, and always have been. Didn’t you know?
— Rumi

The most regretful people on earth are those who felt the call to creative work, who felt their own creative power restive and uprising, and gave to it neither power nor time.
― Mary Oliver from Blue Pastures

There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you. ― Maya Angelou, poet and author of I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.

