Prayer For Myself …

You can search throughout the entire universe for someone who is more deserving of your love and affection than you are yourself, and that person is not to be found anywhere. You, yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe, deserve your love and affection.
Siddhārtha Gautama

Lord, I am guilty of neglect.  There is a person whom I should protect, support, and nurture.  But so very often I do not do it.  It seems I am always in a hurry and have so much to do.  How could I find one minute more in my hectic schedule for anything else – especially to fit in time for someone else’s needs?  There are days when I don’t even stop for breakfast or lunch, and at the end of the day I fall into bed totally exhausted.  The list of things that need attention is never-ending!  Then there are all the extras for which I get nominated.  People think … I have unlimited time …  And when I say no to demands, then I feel guilty!  And yet, I’m listening, Lord.  I do hear you.  There is someone I should care for, although I can’t seem to find the time and often don’t have the inclination.  The person whose needs you wants me to pay attention to is myself.  Help me, then, to slow down and listen to my deepest self – someone who wants to be heard and whose needs are just as real and important as those I try to meet in others.  Help me to quiet myself long enough to hear your voice and to find shelter and peace in you.  Sometimes I honestly forget that I need a time and a place and a space just for me!  Taking care of myself is healthy and good and something I know you want me to do, Lord Jesus.  Please help me to remember that.  Amen.
William Rabior excerpt from “Prayers for Singles”

See also:

