Prayers for Singles: Lord, I Feel Lonely …

Lord, I feel so lonely.  Lonely right to the core of my being.  I don’t feel wanted or needed by anyone.  I’m not sure if anyone even cares whether I live or die.

I suppose I’m just feeling sorry for myself, but this loneliness is almost like physical pain.  It hurts, Lord.  It hurts badly.

Lord Jesus, in this prayer I want to bring the pain of my loneliness to you and place it in your hands.

You know what it is like to be lonely.  In the Garden of Gethsemane you were almost crushed by your loneliness.  Like me now, you felt friendless and abandoned.  Like me now, your heart was breaking from grief and sorrow and the feeling that nobody really cared about what happened to you.

I don’t like these feelings, Lord.  I don’t want them – they are no good for me.  They are too dark and controlling.  They make me lose my perspective, make me think too much about myself and not enough about others.  The only way I ‘m going to handle my loneliness is to reach out to other people – to think about them and their needs – and not to dwell upon how miserable I feel.

Call me forth from this tomb of loneliness, Lord Jesus.  Call me forth to new life, just as you did for Lazarus.  Help me come into the warm sunshine of your love and the love of those whom I know care for me.

With you as Lord of my life, I can never really be alone.  You are always there, only a prayer away.  Thank you for your friendship.  Thank you for not giving up on me, even when I’m at my worst.  Thank you for saving me not just for all eternity but right here, right now.
Amen.
William Rabior

